Leveraging Commercial R&D for Improved Weapon Systems
November 8-9, 2000

Conference Schedule and Agenda

This Technology Transition Conference begins each day with a breakfast at 8:00am.
The conference session includes keynotes, presentations and panels which last until 5:30pm on the 8th. There will be a reception immediately following the first day's session.
The second day will consist of a conference session from 8:30 am to 12:30pm.

A current, detailed agenda for printing is available here in PDF format.

Web-based Agenda follows:

November 8, 2000

8:00-9:00 Breakfast in Exhibit Room
9:00-9:15 Welcome John B. Todaro, Director
Office of Technology Transition
9:15-9:45 Government Keynote Dr. Delores Etter
Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for S&T
9:45-10:00 Award Presentation The first annual DoD DU S&T Achievement Award
Presented by Dr. Etter
10:00-10:30 Break Exhibit Room
10:30-11:00 Industry Keynote
Dr. Jude E. Franklin, Vice President & CTO
Litton PRC
11:00-11:30 DoD Logistics Initiatives Mr. Allen Beckett
Principal Assistant Deputy Under Secretary for Logistics
11:30-12:00 Acquisition Reform Mr. Richard K. Sylvester
Assistant Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Systems Acquisition)
12:00-13:30 Lunch/Exhibits Open Mr. Philip A. Odeen
Executive Vice President and General Manager
Washington Operations, TRW, Inc.
13:30-15:00 DUST Best Practices Panel
GE Corporate Research and Development Center
AppTek Corporation
National Automotive Center
CPU Technology Incorporated
Mr. Dan Petonito - (Moderator)
Associate Director, Office of Technology Transition
Mr. Ronald C. Hodge
Mr. Mohammad Shihada
Mr. Paul Skalny
Ms. Gail Walters
15:00-15:30 Break in exhibit room
15:30-17:00 COSSI Best Practices Panel
"Data Distribution Kits for Command Centers"
"Commercial Technology for NAVAIR"
"Guardrail Mainframe System Computer Upgrade"
Mr. Richard A. Mirsky - (Moderator)
Associate Director, Office of Technology Transition
Mark Behenna, JAYCOR Inc.
Martin Bare, NAVAIR
Scott Lerman, US Army
17:00-19:00 Reception w/ heavy hors d'oeuvre In exhibit room


November 9, 2000


7:30-8:30 Breakfast in Exhibit Room
8:30-8:45 Overview John B. Todaro, Director
Office of Technology Transition
8:45-9:15 Special Topic Briefing:
Other Transactions Authority
Mr. John H. Ablard
Senior Research Fellow
Logistics Management Institute
9:15- 10:30 Industry Perspective Panel
Hon. John W. Douglass
Mr. Herm M. Reininga
Mr. James M. Sinnett
Mr. George E. (Chip) Pickett
President, Aerospace Industries Association of America
Vice President, Operations, Rockwell Collins
Vice President Strategic Development, Boeing
Vice President, Marketing, Northrop Grumman
10:30-11:00 Break
11:00-12:15 Congressional Perspectives Panel
Assistant V.P. for Legislative Affairs, AIA
Professional Staff Member- SASC
Professional Staff Member, HASC
Mr. Jon L. Etherton (Moderator)
Ms. Pamela L. Farrell
Mr. Jean D. Reed
12:15-12:30 Closing Remarks John B. Todaro, Director
Office of Technology Transition

   Sponsored by Office of Technology Transition